quaking aspen, previously

things that make me happy:

Posted on: April 24, 2006

  • In: amusing
  • Comments Off on things that make me happy:

The dialog during the opening credits of the Great Muppet Caper. Kermit, Fozzie and Gonzo are all floating along in a hot air balloon. My favorite exchanges:

Gonzo: I’d like to try this without the balloon!
Kermit: Try what? Plummeting?
Gonzo: Yeah!
Kermit: Hm, I suppose you could try it once.

and

(amusingly enough, spoken over the “directed by Jim Hensen” title)
Fozzie: Nobody really reads this stuff, do they?
Kermit: Well, sure. They all have families.

I adore Jim Henson’s muppet/Kermit voice. Also the voice of Ernie: ah, singing “I’d Like to Visit the Moon.” I miss it terribly on Sesame Street. The new Ernie voice is a decent replica, but just not quite the same. I think such strong feelings as this, i.e. that Ernie nowadays is something of a sociopath, stem ultimately not from the fact that Ernie does things that differently than he did in the good ol’ days, but because he SOUNDS DIFFERENT.

And that’s what I love about the old voice, Jim Henson’s: a sort of underlying gentleness, tenderness even. So whatever Ernie was up to, you could tell it clearly wasn’t malevolent. Sigh. And I can always tell, immediately, if it’s an old school clip of Bert and Ernie, or new, just from the sound of Ernie’s voice. Miss you, Jimmy.

TDD rocks

Please spread the word



Here's my post on the topic.
