quaking aspen, previously

television history

Posted on: November 8, 2006

Watched LOST tonight.

***

Wait, let’s back up for a minute, otherwise you won’t appreciate the full import of that statement.

As a kid, I loved Saturday morning cartoons. Our family watched Jeopardy together, and Little House on the Prairie, the Disney channel for a while, and we would beg and wheedle to stay up late enough to watch MacGuyver (I will now create a perpetual motion machine using only duct tape, laundry detergent, and of course, the pocketknife). (Other favorites: Beauty and the Beast, the TV show, remember that one? Ah, military TV, very erratic.) Then I became a teenager, and we didn’t get cable, or we lived in a foreign country, or whatever… Though I did love to watch reruns of The Fugitive on A&E when I was thirteen or so (he was so tragic! so fascinating! Ahhh…).

The short of it is, I haven’t regularly watched a TV show for years. A few X-Files in college, but nothing I really went out of my way to see. I’m way out of practice. (Have seen a few things on DVD — Bewitched, my husband’s favorite; Firefly; Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel; and LOST… probably will eventually watch more, like 24 and Alias, and who knows what else.)

Still don’t have cable (prefer to spend my money on DSL and scrapbook supplies…). We finally had to get a new TV (the one we’ve had since getting married – given to us by my husband’s grandparents – finally gave up the ghost; it’s definitely time when every single shot appears to have been filmed at night, even with the brightness turned all the way up). But now, with the new TV, we actually get a couple of local channels. So we can watch LOST.

I hate commercials. There are SO many now, it’s ridiculous. I may start only watching them online, at least there’s fewer there. And LOST needs to understand that we need to be getting some answers now. The question we need to be asking is not “What the heck is going on?” but “What are they going to do next?” Okay, they don’t have to give us ALL the answers yet — but some substantial ones, yes. Also? I watched the first two seasons on DVD, so this waiting for the next episode thing… it’s for the birds, man. Though I must say that LOST marathons do make for some trippy dreams…

Anyway. I watch a bit of television now and then these days and I’m rather critical. The skanky clothes, too many ads. Love NOVA and the DRAMATIC. MUSIC. Cracks me up. Oh my gosh, in another couple hundred thousand years the earth’s polarity will reverse! What will we dooooooo?!?

So I don’t watch much. Regardless of content, TV can be such a timesucker.

But then again, here I am frittering my time away on the computer, mostly reading blogs. I tell people, they’re like my TV shows. The NaBloPoMo Randomizer is a terrible thing, making it so easy to find even more fabulous writing. Bah. Seriously? I should probably cut back.

But not this month.

So – any shows you can’t bear to miss, now or in the past?

2 Responses to "television history"

I watched the Battlestar Galactica mini-series and really want to see the rest of the full TV series. I hear it’s the best thing on TV right now.

Also, watch scrubs. It’s got something like five seasons already under its belt and it’s one of my favorite sitcoms of all time. It’s created and still produced by a W&M alumnus (Bill Lawrence) and is consistently funny, relevant, and touching.

I don’t know if my first attempt went through, so here’s try number two. Rhyme!

I watched the Battlestar Galactica mini-series and really want to see the rest of the full TV series. I hear it’s the best thing on TV right now.

Also, watch Scrubs. It’s got something like five seasons already under its belt and it’s one of my favorite sitcoms of all time. It’s created and still produced by a W&M alumnus (Bill Lawrence) and is consistently funny, relevant, and touching.

Comments are closed.

TDD rocks

Please spread the word



Here's my post on the topic.
