quaking aspen, previously

the familiar madness

Posted on: November 25, 2006

Certainly familiar to children of the 80s like myself. I love what the book The Orchid Thief  (I love this book, it’s fascinating) has to say about collecting:

“Nah,” Laroche said. “I don’t want to collect anything for myself right now. I really have to watch myself, especially around plants. Even now, just being here, I still get that collector feeling. You know what I mean. I’ll see something and then suddenly I get that feeling. It’s like I can’t just have something – I have to have it and learn about it and grow it and sell it and master it and have a million of it.” He shook his head and scuffed up some gravel. “You know, I’ll see something, just anything, and I can’t help but think to myself, Well, geez, now that’s interesting. Jeez, I’ll bet you could find a lot of those.”

This right here (shown below)? Is exactly why I should shop less … it is what I fear becoming. It could totally happen. Even with the same item – I loved My Little Ponies as a kid. (In fact, the same old story: my mom got rid of all mine, and there are at least a couple – Firefly! Moondancer! – that I’m on the lookout for on eBay.) And she has them all pretty and lined up and such. But I have a utilitarian streak: the idea of having a collection that one does not/cannot/will not use irks part of me. I couldn’t ever reconcile this many… but that doesn’t stop me from feeling that collecting urge….

NewPonyRoom

TDD rocks

Please spread the word



Here's my post on the topic.
