quaking aspen, previously

big photo layouts…

Posted on: April 16, 2007

Over at Mari’s Musings, there are some awesome scrapbooking challenges. This is for #16: Use an Autumn Leaves idea book.

I was trying to lift directly from a layout on page 87 of their Designing with Simplicity book. It’s a 12×12 page, with five 12″ high photos, covered with a 12×12 transparency with some words on it. Looks very nice, and I thought, hey, I have a girl themed transparency and a boy themed one. Yay! So I got some big 4×12″ photos of my kiddos (three for each page, $1.49 per 8×12 at Costco) and then discovered that the particular transparencies I had were just too busy to use full, the way it was in the book (too much background stuff going on, dictionary definitions and whatnot). So I altered it a bit: used just part of the transparencies, plus a stamp on one, and Heidi Swapp ghost letters on each. I like em. I think I may love using huge photos. It’s still enough “trouble” –unless I’m digi scrapping — to make me think twice, but really, what’s a better “embellishment” than the photos themselves? And if you have a really nice photo, it looks even nicer big. (Also I am probably a little too enamored of my own photography. And definitely with my camera…)

irresistible

allboy

Supplies:
Transparencies: Creative Imaginations
Ghost letters: Heidi Swapp
“A” foam stamp: Heidi Swapp (center of attention font, I want the punctuation)
Staples

4 Responses to "big photo layouts…"

I love the way you’ve cropped these photos and made the layouts Flawyn.It’s a terrific look.

These pages are awesome!

What a neat idea to have the photos 4×12. I am barely going to try (for the first time) a different sized photo (I am talking 5×7 and wallet sized. LOL!). I think I will now have to try printing out some 4×12.

Thanks for the idea. ๐Ÿ™‚

๐Ÿ™‚ It’s fun, this using big photos thing; and at Costco at least it’s not too expensive — that’s what I did, is order an 8×12 with two 4×12 sized photos on it, and cut it apart. I recommend it.

Hi, it’s Snoskred here. I found you via Nablopomo last year. I’m just dropping by to let you know that I read your blog with google reader whenever you update, and that I enjoy your blog. I’m re-doing my links on my blog, and I have linked to you in the sidebar.

These are gorgeous pages. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Your blog is always inspiring.. thank you for that.

Comments are closed.

TDD rocks

Please spread the word



Here's my post on the topic.
