quaking aspen, previously

dinnertime

Posted on: November 18, 2007

An unexpectedly crazy day. Directing choir, substitute chorister in the main meeting at church, performed a musical number with a friend (on Irish whistles – ack, the nervousness; went fine though), substitute teacher of 12 year old girls. Just got done proofreading a paper for my law student brother.

I am not happy with my hair at present (and of course I had to stand up in front of everyone at church today, ugh). It was cut yesterday. Um, by my husband, because I am cheap AND lazy AND impatient, and I can hear you already: no wonder you’re unhappy with it, but I assure you, I think it’s less the cut itself and more that I wanted it short. Too short, not so flattering for my face, I fear. Perhaps I just need more layers. Or a perm. Or the electric clippers. And a turban.

But now let’s talk about what we had for dinner. What’s that you say? Nobody cares what we had for dinner? Ah, but you will when I share the recipe. (What can I say, I was inspired by coolbeans. Sadly I forgot to take photos — because we were HUNGRY, dangit. Also sadly, mine will not have quite the comic genius as hers. Ah well.)

Cheeseburger Casserole (actually, we call it hamburger casserole, but cheeseburger is more appropriate)
oven: 375, 25-30 min
1/2 – 1 lb ground beef (I usually use one pound for a double batch, with some frozen veggies thrown in)
2 T. diced onions, dry or fresh (actually I use about half a fresh onion. Like I would bother measuring that. Ha.)
1/2 can (4 oz) diced green chiles (I always use a whole can. And it’s usually 7 oz. Evidently I have two entirely separate recipes here – the written and the actual.)
1 cup (8 oz can) tomato sauce
2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp garlic salt or powder
1 can (10) refrigerated biscuits (I actually use jumbo biscuits – 2 cans for a double batch, with a couple left over for cooking and eating. You can, of course, also make your own biscuit dough. I’ll put my grandma’s baking powder biscuit recipe at the bottom.)
1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 cup sour cream
1 egg, slightly beaten (this is likely optional)

Brown beef, onion & chilis. Drain grease, stir in tomato sauce, chili powder (I also usually add a little ground cumin), garlic salt/powder. Simmer (if you’re adding frozen veggies you should put these in with the meat mix now, so they warm up and don’t slow down your cooking time); separate biscuits in halves (two layers). Press 10 pieces into bottom of ungreased 8-9″ baking pan (I do my double batch in a 9×13). Combine sour cream, egg & half of cheese in bowl. Then mix into meat mixture. Spread over biscuits, layer second 10 biscuit halves on top, sprinkle with remaining cheese and bake, 25-30 minutes. You may want to wait to add the top cheese till a little later, so it doesn’t overbrown.

It took me a really long time to figure out that the reason this is called Cheeseburger Casserole is because the biscuits are like buns… anyway. It’s tasty and delicious and I love it. Usually my kids do to — tonight they insisted they didn’t like it, till they had the required same-number-of-bites-as-your-age. Then it wasn’t so bad. It’s not really spicy, though you could probably make it so by adding more chili powder, maybe some cracked red pepper.

Here’s the bonus biscuit recipe:

Baking Powder Biscuits
oven: 475, 12-15 minutes

Combine:
2 c. flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Cut in 1/3 c. shortening (we always used one of those pastry cutter things… Like this). Add 3/4 c. milk.

Blend until flour is moistened and pulls away from sides of the bowl. Turn out and knead on lightly floured board. Do NOT knead much — very little, the biscuits are much more tender if you keep it to maybe 10 times total. Roll 3/4″ thick. Cut and bake on lightly greased pan. Brush tops with butter if desired. So good! My mom used to make these with half whole wheat flour, and maybe a touch more milk.

TDD rocks

Please spread the word



Here's my post on the topic.
