quaking aspen, previously

Q&A part two

Posted on: November 27, 2007

Back at last from vacation. I can hardly believe that there are only four more days of Blopping.
Totally stealing questions from other people’s Q&A – is that sad? I prefer to call it “resourceful.” I grabbed a couple from Kerflop, and some from Lou, and I’ll also answer the remainder of my own.

From Happay:

What Halloween candy can you not live without?
I have discovered that Brach’s candy corn is indeed the tastiest candy corn I have tried. I prefer candy corn to those candy pumpkins – smaller, less potential for making myself sick by eating too much of it.

What are your Thanksgiving dream plans?
Hmm… dream plans. We got to do the actual plans (driving to visit family) without our car breaking down or any other disasters, so that’s as good, right?

Have you done origami? What do you want to learn to make? What would you do with all of the origami that you made?
I have not done origami. I like the simplicity of cranes – clean lines. I have NO IDEA what I would do with them all… which is part of why I haven’t felt compelled to try learning how.

How important are calendars to your life?
Not important enough. I have one on the wall, but don’t write enough on it. And sometimes don’t consult it even when I have noted something down on it. I like my calendar week to start with Sunday. (Unless it’s a student planner type. And I always need a month view.)

From Lou:

What was something you wanted to be when you grew up?
When I was quite little, I wanted to be an astronaut. Then the Challenger blew up when I was 6 or so and scared me out of it. Then I wanted to be a singer, or maybe a veterinarian. Then I met an author and figured out that books were written by people, and I wanted to do that for years and years. Still do. (I might like to be a sign language interpreter someday as well.)

What are your favorite pair of socks?
I almost never wear socks. But I do like my wool pair from Ireland.

If you could live anywhere in the world..where would it be?
Hmm. There are a lot of places I might like to take a year or so and live there. But really live — right now we’re looking at Idaho. I’d really like my family to come live there too though (siblings, parents), I’m just about done living thousands of miles from them.

What is your favorite smell from childhood and what does it remind you of?
I love the way Gramma’s house smells. I can’t even explain the smell, but every time I get a package from her in the mail I have to stick my head in the box and inhale. She has sent me quilts lately and I snuggle up with them all of the time until the Gramma-smell wears off.

Ever been to a concert? favorite gum? Best and worst road trips? Best friend? If you could go anywhere to live- where? vacation?
I was at a Lilith Fair concert in the summer of 1998. It was cool, but my main thought was: huh, they sound just like on the CD.

I like original flavor Trident. Juicy Fruit is tasty, but for maybe five minutes. I dislike mints other than peppermint.

Road Trips: Worst – definitely when I was a kid and our family went from Germany to Italy. Low-lights included having our brakes go out in the Alps, losing my glasses in the ocean, and getting our car broken into and our passports stolen in Pisa. Yippee, let me tell you. Best – hm, I’ve never had any wild road trips with friends. It was fun driving from Virginia to Arizona with my sister.

Best Friend: Too many of my friends live far away. 😦 In elementary school I always refused to name just one person as a best friend, it just seemed smarter. I pretty much stick to that now… maybe that’s why no official blogroll? Hmph.

Vacation: I’d love to visit Australia, New Zealand, Ireland and Scotland again… we’ll start there.

From Kerflop:

What is the one book that had the most profound influence on you, either as an adult or a child, or both?

I’m sticking with fiction here, and I don’t know about the MOST influence, but Birth of the Firebringer was a pretty big one for me. Also Lord of the Rings, which I’ve read scores of times, starting when I was in 5th or 6th grade.

Phew. I’ll try to address Becky’s idea another day….

3 Responses to "Q&A part two"

I think your question about origami just gave me an idea for a blog post. Thanks! 🙂

I can make cranes, frogs, and paper balloons from memory. Usually I make them when I am bored, and end up giving them to a nearby child to play with.

I’m waiting for gumball stories! You can do it. Just think pink!

steal away- at the end of NaBloPoMo- we can afford to be generous with the ideas lol!

Comments are closed.

TDD rocks

Please spread the word



Here's my post on the topic.
